Audit Information systems & IT Security
Audit Information systems & IT Security

Audit Information systems & and IT Security

Information System audit and IT Security

ITIL - IT Infrastructure Library

ISO 20000 - IT Service Management

ITIL Overview

Obtaining ITIL

ITIL Links

ISO 20000 Overview

ITIL Introduction

ITIL (the IT Infrastructure Library) is a widely accepted approach to IT service management. ITIL provides a cohesive set of best practice, drawn from the public and private sectors internationally. It is supported by a qualifications scheme, accredited training organisations, and implementation and assessment tools. The best practice processes promoted in ITIL support and are supported by, the ISO 20000 standard.

ISO 20000 is currently made up of two parts

ISO 20000-1: Specification for service management
ISO 20000-2: Code of practice for service management

ISO 20000-1 consists of 10 sections: Scope, Terms and Definitions, Requirements for a Management System, Planning and Implementing Service Management, Planning and Implementing New or Changed Services, Service Delivery Process, Relationship Processes, Resolution Processes, Control Processes, and Release Process

ISO 20000-2 provides assistance to organisations that are to be audited against ISO 20000-1 or are planning service improvements.
The sections are: Scope, Terms and definitions, The management system, Planning and implementing service management, Service delivery processes, Relationship processes, 7 Resolution processes, Control processes, and Release management processes

Obtaining ITIL

The books published by OGC can be bought from TSO Bookshop. The ISO 20000 standards can be bought here.

ITIL Links

OGC's official site for ITIL

IT Service Management Forum


Auditing Security and IT Systems
Copyright 2006-2008. All Rights Reserved. Something missing on this page? Let us know